Skip to content

KU quartet honored on postseason all-Big 12 women's hoops squad

3 min read
Kansas Jayhawks, from left to right, Holly Kersgieter, Taiyanna Jackson, S'Mya Nichols and Zakiyah Franklin earned postseason all-Big 12 honors on Tuesday. [Kansas Athletics photo]

With the regular season behind them and high hopes for the postseason ahead, the Kansas women's basketball team learned Tuesday that four of its members earned all-Big 12 recognition this season.

Senior center Taiyanna Jackson and freshman guard S'Mya Nichols were both named to the 10-player all-Big 12 first team. Teammates Holly Kersgieter and Zakiyah Franklin joined them as honorable mention selections.

All four starters played a crucial role in the Jayhawks' 18-11 regular season, with Jackson, Kersgieter and Franklin setting program records along the way and Nichols turning in one of the best freshman seasons in KU women's hoops history.

Nichols' season has been documented right here at R1S1 | Wave the Wheat in the form of The S'Mya Diary, which has given us an inside look at the highly-touted freshman's first year with the Jayhawks. Nichols also was named to the all-freshman team.

Jackson became the program's all-time blocks queen and she'll leave KU with the record for blocks in a single game, single season and career. She also landed on the five-player, all-Big 12 defensive team.

Kersgieter became the program's all-time leader in 3-pointers and saved her best for last, exploding for 26 points in a win over No. 20 Oklahoma last weekend on Senior Day.

And Franklin, who moved into the top spot for games and minutes played, also has climbed up the scoring and 3-point shooting charts, delivering a steady scoring presence and consistent work ethic throughout her time in Lawrence.

Next up, these four and their teammates will head to Kansas City, Missouri, later this week to open play in the Big 12 tournament at T-Mobile Center.

After closing the regular season with eight wins in their last nine games, the Jayhawks earned the No. 7 seed — at 11-7 overall in conference play — and will take on No. 10 BYU at 5:30 p.m. Friday night.

The winner will move on to Saturday to take on No. 2 seed Texas.

After that, it's NCAA Touranment time. After being left out of the field in heartbreaking fashion in 2023, the Jayhawks have played their way onto and then off of the projection bubble and are expected to earn a spot in this year's field, giving this foursome a shot to cap off the season with a special run in the Big Dance.

2023-24 All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team

(As selected by conference coaches. * denotes unanimous selection)

Co-Player of the Year: Madison Booker, Texas
Co-Player of the Year: Skylar Vann, Oklahoma
Defensive Player of the Year: JJ Quinerly, West Virginia
Freshman of the Year: Madison Booker, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Peyton Verhulst, Oklahoma
Sixth Player Award: DeYona Gaston, Texas
Coach of the Year: Jennie Baranczyk, Oklahoma

All-Big 12 First Team

Lauren Gustin, BYU
Audi Crooks, Iowa State*
Taiyanna Jackson, Kansas
S'Mya Nichols, Kansas

Ayoka Lee, Kansas State*
Serena Sundell, Kansas State
Skylar Vann, Oklahoma*
Payton Verhulst, Oklahoma
Madison Booker, Texas*
JJ Quinerly, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Second Team

Sarah Andrews, Baylor
Kaitlin Peterson, UCF
Madison Conner, TCU
Aaliyah Moore, Texas
Jordan Harrison, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention: Aijha Blackwell (Baylor), Dre’Una Edwards (Baylor), Darianna Littlepage-Buggs (Baylor), Kailey Woolston (BYU), Jillian Hayes (Cincinnati), Laila Blair (Houston), Addy Brown (Iowa State), Zakiyah Franklin (Kansas), Holly Kersgieter (Kansas), Gabby Gregory (Kansas State), Nevaeh Tot (Oklahoma), Sahara Williams (Oklahoma), Anna Gret Asi (Oklahoma State), Sedona Prince (TCU), Shaylee Gonzales (Texas), Shay Holle (Texas), Taylor Jones (Texas), Bailey Maupin (Texas Tech), Jasmine Shavers (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Taiyanna Jackson, Kansas
Ayoka Lee, Kansas State
Shay Holle, Texas
Jordan Harrison, West Virginia
JJ Quinerly, West Virginia

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Addy Brown, Iowa State
Audi Crooks, Iowa State*
S’Mya Nichols, Kansas*
Stailee Heard, Oklahoma State
Madison Booker, Texas*

— For tickets to all KU athletic events, visit