Skip to content

11 Jayhawks earn all-Big 12 honors, highlighted by 3 first-team picks

Austin Booker, Cobee Bryant & Dominick Puni recognized for standout seasons

3 min read
Kansas defensive lineman Austin Booker folds his arms in celebration of a stop during the Jayhawks' home game against Kansas State. Booker was one of 3 KU players to earn first team all-Big 12 honors and also was named the conference's Defensive Newcomer of the Year. [Chance Parker photo]

Three Kansas football players earned first team all-conference honors on Wednesday, including defensive lineman Austin Booker who was named the Big 12’s defensive newcomer of the year.

Joining Booker on the all-Big 12 first team were cornerback Cobee Bryant and offensive lineman Dominick Puni.

In all, 11 different Jayhawks earned all-conference recognition, with running back Devin Neal and safety Kenny Logan Jr. landing on the second team and six other Kansas players earning honorable mention all-conference nods, including quarterback Jason Bean.

Joining Bean on the honorable mention list were: wide receiver Lawrence Arnold, cornerback Mello Dotson, tight end Mason Fairchild, center Mike Novitsky and defensive lineman Jereme Robinson.

The conference awards also noted that Booker, Neal and Puni all received votes for player of the year at their position, earning them a second type of honorable mention nod.

Booker was named honorable mention defensive lineman of the year, Neal honorable mention offensive player of the year and Puni honorable mention offensive lineman of the year, meaning each Jayhawk received at least one vote as the best at each of those positions.

Below is the complete list of this year's honorees.

KU defensive lineman Jereme Robinson. [Chance Parker photo]

— For tickets to all KU athletic events, visit